What’s Up Wednesday: Back to Blogging, Mexico, & Thinking of the Future

22092531_10154939830703862_431751347_o

What’s new?

I haven’t blogged properly for 3 months but now I’m back.

I’m trying to think of an update for these last few ‘summer’ months but am struggling. I really haven’t done a lot other than work. Back in July, I flew up to Vietnam to visit an old friend from Korea for a few days. But, apart from that, life has been pretty low key on this island.

Earlier this month I had a lovely week off from work. I thought about going on holiday somewhere nearby – Bali, Penang, Thailand, Philippines. But in the end I decided to stay here and enjoy a bunch of lie-ins, cafe visits, cinema trips, and long walks. It was something I really needed and I felt so refreshed after.

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about what to do next year. My work contract is up at the end of March and I have to make a choice over whether to stay or move on. I think I’ve already made my choice but there are always a ton of things to consider for each option.

I wish I could be more specific but, right now, I’ll just have to remain annoyingly vague.

Thinking about the future has been bringing on a lot of stress, anxiety, and panic attacks; The same shit that always comes along with these decisions. Right now, I’ve been trying to remain calm and take each day slowly. I’ve channelled my stress into cardio and colouring this time and it seems to be working.

It’s ridiculous that this still happens after 6 years. I wish I was more like my mother – Able to remain calm, cool, and collected through anything.

22092871_10154939907798862_74246138_o

De-stressing through colouring

~*~

In the last few weeks, most of my attention has been on my former home, Mexico. What’s happened there has broken my heart. But, at the same time, I’m inspired by the sense of community the Mexican people have shown by coming together to help in any way they can.

I can’t overemphasise how much help they need. Their government is never going to properly help and there are a lot of places that’re still in disrepair from the 1985 earthquake.

If anyone happens to read this, please consider making a donation to one of the links below. This is a country I still hold in my heart. I have loved ones living there that are safe but also doing what they can. Every little bit helps:

Topos

Banco: Santander Cuenta: 92-00070929-4
CLABE: 014180920007092942
Referencia: Brigada de Rescate Topos Tlaltelolco, A.C.
Paypal: donativos@brigada-rescate-topos.org

Omaze

donate.omaze.com/mexico

Red Cross Mexico

cruzrojomexicana.org.mx

(For Puerto Rico)
Unidos

unidosporpuertorico.com/en/

Books Read in the Last 3 Months

The last book I blogged about finishing was The Dead Zone by Stephen King. Since then, these are the books I’ve finished:

1
23
4
5

Obviously I’m not going to sit here and write about all 25 books at once but here are the ones that were my favourites:

Firestarter by Stephen King – I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. Stephen King feels like coming home. I grew up with his books, everyone in my family is a fan, and I know that I can always rely on his storytelling to help me through a slump. While  Firestarter  wasn’t one of his best, this was still a really enjoyable and gripping read.

I Put a Spell on You by Nina Simone – I love Nina Simone. I worship Nina Simone. Hearing about her life from her own words was pure magic.

Lakota Woman by Mary Crow Dog – This book was absolutely incredible. I learned so much about the roles of women across different generations of the Sioux nation and also the experiences of those involved in the American Indian Movement and their political campaigns during the 70s. I actually ended up buying the follow up to this book, Ohitika Woman, because I was desperate to learn more.

Blood Brothers by Willy Russell – This was actually a re-read but I forgot how wonderfully funny and moving this play is. I’ve seen it on stage twice before and would go again in a heartbeat.

All of Shakespeare’s plays – I only read a small selection of Shakespeare’s plays in the last few months but it’s as though I’ve discovered a new love for them. The last time I read Shakespeare was almost fifteen years ago. Being able to read them for fun from an adult’s perspective has been a joy. I’m now seeing why he’s hailed as one of the greatest.

Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett – I read this after learning there was going to be a miniseries made of it starring Michael Sheen (who is from my hometown) and David Tennant (forever my Scottish bae). I’d never read any Gaiman or Pratchett because I’m really not a fantasy person. This ended up surprising me in a big way. I loved it. Loved, loved, LOVED it. Really funny and now I’m on the look out for something similar.

We Are Never Meeting in Real Life by Samantha Irby – I love Samantha Irby. I’ve loved her blog, bitches gotta eat, for years and her first book, Meaty, was my favourite read of 2014. WANMIRL is her second collection of essays and I wasn’t let down. Irby’s voice is hilarious; I love her. But she can also be really moving at times too. One of my favourite writers. ❤

Currently Watching

I am currently obsessed with Broadchurch. I’m only 4 years late on this – judge all you want to – but it’s been keeping me up at night. I coudn’t sleep until I knew who killed Danny.

I also recently discovered a really funny show called I Love Dick about a married couple who have an obsession with a professor. Griffin Dunne is in it. Kathryn Hahn is in it. Kevin Bacon is in it. I love it.

Links to things I loved this week:

Joan Didion is Ready for Her Close-Up @ Vogue

NASA Langley’s Katherine G. Johnson Computational Reseach Facility Opens @ Space.com

Fenty Beauty by Rihanna is in Singapore @ Daily Vanity

Leave a Reply

