Booktube-A-Thon 2017 TBR

pexels-photo-46274

The 2017 Booktube-A-Thon has been announced and, while I’m not a booktuber myself, I’m an avid viewer and have chosen to take part this year anyway.

For anyone who doesn’t know what Booktube-A-Thon is, it is an annual read-a-long for booktubers to come together and read as much as possible in the space of one week (24th July – 30th July).

There are video challenges set up for the creators to take part in, as well as a list of reading challenges. Neither of these things are mandatory and the only real thing you should be trying to do during the week is read. (You can find more information on the official youtube channel here.)

Like I said, I’m not a creator on booktube but I thought it might be a fun way to get through some of the books I have on my shelves anyway so here is my TBR:

Challenge #1: Read a book with a person on the cover

518wzcBQygL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_

I have chosen Lakota Woman by Mary Crow Dog. I’ve been wanting to read this for a while and I am a little nervous about putting this on the TBR as I want to take my time with it and really absorb as much as I can, whereas Booktube-A-Thon only lasts a week so I’ll definitely be under pressure to finish it as soon as a possible.

Challenge #2: Read a book that’s been hyped on booktube

32613366

I think every single booktuber I’m subscribed to has read or made comments about this book. I’ve had it on my Kindle for about a month now so this’ll be the perfect opportunity to find out what all the fuss is about.

Challenge #3: Read a book in one day

19594621

I’ve purposefully chosen the shortest book I own for this because I’m a slow reader. This came up as an LGBT classic recommendation. That’s pretty much all I know about it.

Challenge #4: Read about a character that is very different from you

15827137

The narrator for this is male and Russian. Two things I’m not.

I also may have added this because of its short length.

Challenge #5: Finish a book completely outdoors

f6e7e04f18ebf41d04493bcbce7397d9f77b07fe27d5574a435c74f56793d3b9

Ahahahaha. Never going to happen. It’s about 32 degrees outside and there are mosquitoes carrying Dengue. Forget it.

Challenge #6: Read a book you bought because of the cover

puffin-classics-a-little-princess

I never buy books based on their covers but this is the only exception.

It’s so cute and pretty. ❤

I used to watch the film adaptation of A Little Princess over and over as a child; It was the first film to ever make me cry. So when I saw this this on sale, I knew I had to get my hands on it.

Challenge #7: Read seven books

cute-cat-on-stack-of-old-books-animated-gif

This is another one that’ll never happen. In fact, I’ll be surprised if I manage to finish the five that I’ve already listed. Just being honest.

~*~

Well, that’s my list. This could always change at the last minute based on my mood but these are the books I’m aiming for. If anyone out there happens to be reading this and is also taking part in this year’s Booktube-A-Thon, let me know what you’re reading for it too. I love a good TBR video or blog post. 😀

3 thoughts on “Booktube-A-Thon 2017 TBR

Leave a Reply

