What’s Up Wednesday: New York, Weddings, & Lying Low

19046832_10154597347358862_921787931_n

What’s new?

I suck at blogging.

This What’s Up Wednesday thing was supposed to put me on a schedule so that I could start blogging regularly again. And then I missed a month worth of Wednesdays. Fail.

But I’m back. I imagine this is because I’ve just spent the last two days at home, lounging about in my PJs, trying to get over the last of my jetlag, so I finally have free time to just blabber on.

The biggest thing that happened in the last few weeks is that I flew to New York for my girl, Cerena’s, wedding.

I haven’t seen the professional pictures yet and I, stupidly, didn’t bother to take any photos throughout the day because I was too busy sobbing and then drinking and then dancing but I managed to snag one that the happy couple was tagged in on Facebook:

18982919_10154597349808862_1598585429_n

Aren’t they cute? And beautiful? And just perfectly happy? *sobs more*

Yeah, word to the wise: I’m a big baby who cries at everything so I suck at being Maid of Honour.

Literal Ugly Crying Face ALL DAY.

4147244_tc3846127

Started when she was putting her make-up on. Then her veil. Then her dress. Then as she walked down the aisle. Then throughout the ceremony. Then during the vows.

Gawd.

Anyway, before I bawled and snotted all my makeup off, this was my Maid of Honour getup:

18986521_10154597348063862_196604676_o

The ‘After’ pics are probably best left unseen.

Nevertheless, the whole day was so much fun and I really couldn’t be happier for the two of them. You know those couples you see who are actually so well suited that they’re kind of extensions of each other? That’s Cerena & Ant.

I love you both. ❤ Congratulations again. I'm so happy for you.

19047147_10154599750708862_1424216838_o

19022562_10154599750713862_2037518059_o

19024430_10154599750758862_202420067_o

After the wedding, I had a few days left in New York before flying home so I wanted to give the newlyweds some space and headed into the city to spend some ‘me’ time in my favourite places.

18987510_10154597347353862_748675412_o

18986591_10154599835758862_1919562567_o

18949092_10154597348083862_1131225901_o

Just walking around for the whole day, taking everything in, and being away from social media really reignited my love for this city and I don’t think I’ll ever not enjoy coming back to it.

In the meantime, I’m back in Singapore and regular life has resumed. But being able to see three of my best friends from home in the last 3 months has really got me thinking about how much I miss being near them. (Two of them flew out here to see me back in March.) Questions about my living situation, my job, and my future have been wracking my brain and, now that Singapore has done what I hoped it would (heal my mental health), it’s time to think about the next step.

For the next 4-5 months I’m going to be lying low here while I make preparations for the upcoming year. I can’t really go into too much detail now because we’re still half a year away but, for now, I’m going to dedicate the rest of this year to making the most of everything that’s around me now and staying grateful. 🙂

Books Read in the Last Month:

books

I ended up diving into the world of audiobooks last month and listened to The Handmaid’s Tale and The Dead Zone that way. I’d never tried audiobook before but it definitely helped me concentrate during a time when I was too busy to focus.

Unfortunately for Margaret Atwood, Claire Danes’ great narration couldn’t make me love this book. I thought it was okay. A little dated, maybe. I’m certainly not the biggest fan of Atwood’s writing style. And the story itself was a little dull. I gave it a generous 3 stars though I’d lean more towards 2. One extra star because I enjoyed Claire Danes’ voice.

Before launching into my second audiobook of the year, Louise Meriwether’s Daddy was a Number Runner was the paperback that got me hooked. This was a book that I enjoyed and would definitely recommend. It follows a young girl growing up in Harlem in the 1930s and the closeness of the community around her. James Baldwin wrote the introduction to my edition so I knew that it was going to be good. Four out of five stars for this one.

And then, onto my latest read, The Dead Zone by Stephen King.

My. God. I’d forgotten how bloody brilliant of a writer King is. Reading his books are like going back home. I get so much comfort from them because these were the books I grew up around and were the first adult books I ever read.

While The Dead Zone wasn’t one of his scary novels, it was definitely a page turner. And, when I didn’t have time to sit down and physically turn the page, I turned on my audiobook, brilliantly narrated by James Franco. King’s so good at creating three dimensional characters (and then putting them through hell). I loved this and gave it five stars. It was exactly what I needed at this time.

The biggest reading news amidst all of this is that I hit my reading goal for 2017: To read 30 books. Daddy Was a Number Runner got me to that magical number. Woohoo!

Now I’m kind of lost and thinking about what new reading goals I should set for the rest of the year.

I did find one that’ll be taking up most of my time this month and next month.

That’s right. I’m taking on this beast:

18626867

I’m reading this as part of a Readalong organised by Ange from Beyond the Pages and Yamini from The Skeptical Reader. After a week, I’m about 13-14% into it and really enjoying it. I hadn’t dared to venture into Russian classics since I attempted Doctor Zhivago a few years ago and failed miserably. But this has been surprisingly readable and entertaining so far.

As a result, my reading count through the months of June and July might take a nosedive. But that’s okay. War and Peace has over a thousand pages so it’s going to take some time.

Currently Watching:

I’m counting down the days until this arrives. Everyone better leave me alone next weekend.

Also, I watched The Room last night. This film has been called “the Citizen Kane of bad movies” and has become a cult classic because of how awful it is. Yup. It’s so bad it’s almost entertaining.

Links to things I loved this week:

Star Wars: The Last Jedi, the Definitive Preview @ Vanity Fair

‘Wonder Woman’: Young Girls Around the Country Dress as the Heroine for the Opening @ The Hollywood Reporter

2 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday: New York, Weddings, & Lying Low

Leave a Reply

