What’s Up Wednesday: Vesak Day, Theatre, & Awkwardness

18405262_10154518892673862_1393029748_o

What’s new?

Happy Vesak Day!

Singapore is enjoying this midweek public holiday and flocking to their nearest temple to take part in celebrations. I have yet to shower and get dressed so … you know … priorities.

I completely missed writing a WUW last week thanks to my utter laziness. I woke up late and then spent the rest of the afternoon getting ready to go out for the evening. But this wasn’t any normal going out.

I’d treated myself to theatre tickets.

I am a huge fan of going to the theatre. It’s possibly the only media I haven’t grown sick of or disheartened by. My mother and I used to have a tradition of going to see whatever play or musical we fancied either in Cardiff or London when I was living in Wales. As I haven’t lived there in a few years, the theatre has been taking a backseat lately.

However, when I saw the trailer for what one of my local theatres was putting on, I knew I couldn’t resist:

Feathers, sequins, drag … all here in Singapore.

It was absolutely fantastic. I laughed so hard and even shed a few tears at one point. It’s cliché to say but the whole cast was fabulous and dazzling.

La Cage Aux Folles is actually a French play but has made its way onto Broadway and the West End before now.

I was really impressed by this production though. They took something French and made it Singaporean. So many Singlish jokes that had the audience rolling.

18405279_10154518959343862_2051040951_o

This really made me re-catch the theatre bug and want to go again. I’m definitely going to try and see more plays and musicals this year.

Other than that, there isn’t a huge amount of news. My trip to America’s coming up so I’ve been trying to keep everything low key and save my money.

I did finally pick out the dress I’ll be wearing to Cerena’s wedding as her Maid of Honour.

Here’s a little peek:

18452029_10154518963813862_275422505_o

Less than two weeks to go. I’m so excited to see one of my best friends again and watch her get married. I’m also really excited to be back in New York. Last time, I was in such a cloud of depression I think I scared Cerena and her mother. This time I’ll be going there with a much clearer and happier head so we can only expect good things.

Books Read This Fortnight

books

I’ve mentioned before how I was struggling to get through the religious passages in Go Tell It on the Mountain. Well, that struggle didn’t go away and, in the end, I found that the only way I could actually get through the book was to skim read those passages.

I’m not a skim reader but this one was killing me. The actual story and backstories of the characters were really interesting but, gawd, the religious text was suffocating. I’m really glad this wasn’t my first Baldwin book. It definitely wouldn’t have made me want to pick up another. I gave it a 3 star.

Luckily, because I’d already read Giovanni’s Room and loved that, I do still want to read more Baldwin in the future. We’ll just take a short break for now.

Adé was a great short read about a young woman who goes travelling around the continent of Africa with her friend. Along the way, she meets a man and falls in love. I really enjoyed this book. It was easy to read and I was reminded of the adventures my own friend and I have had in the past as young twenty-somethings. I gave it a 4 star.

Last but not least, I recently discovered I could download the Kindle app onto my phone and read books from it. (I know. I’m so late to the party.) This has been such a gamechanger for me and now I’m reading everywhere.

I flew through The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl this way. Issa Rae’s voice was exactly what I needed at this time. There was so much about her awkwardness that I resonated with. Especially her childhood memories of trying to appear cooler than she actually was during the 90s. I definitely went through the whole ‘trying to impress my friends with music and film knowledge while actually being pretty clueless’ phase. There was no internet back then to look things up so if you were in the dark, you were left there. 😛

4 star read for Awkward Black Girl. Issa Rae is really funny and her writing is so relatable. I hope she decides to write another book soon.

Currently Watching/Listening to:

I enjoyed Issa Rae’s book so much that I started watching her TV show, Insecure. I’m only a couple of episodes into it but, so far, I really like it.

I’ve also been revisiting the 90s this week and re-listening to Lil’ Kim’s Hard Core album. This is probably the tamest track on the album 😉 :

Links to things I loved this week:

The World’s Loudest Inner Monologue @ Chicago Magazine

First Look at the First Part of Angels in America @ Whats On Stage

2 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday: Vesak Day, Theatre, & Awkwardness

  1. Hello! I love that dress – can’t wait to see it in color. Also, I’m glad you said that about Go Tell It On the Mountain. That’s the only Baldwin I’ve tried to read and I just couldn’t do it. Now I want to go try some others!
    I’ve never been a musical person – though Jason and the boys all love them – but I love theatre and it’s been AGES since I’ve been able to see anything live and onstage.

    Like

    • Definitely try some more Baldwin. I couldn’t believe how conflicting my feelings were for GTIOTM and Giovanni’s Room.

      I always forget how much I love theatre until I’m there and in awe of everything. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

