What’s Up Wednesday: Wedding Fever, Giant Moths, & Booktube

18159410_10154481555688862_336567168_o

What’s new?

I am in full wedding mode and it’s not even my wedding.

In 4 weeks time, I’ll be flying to New York for my friend Cerena’s wedding. I will be her Maid of (Dis)Honour. Let’s be honest, though – I’m doing a pretty shitty job of that already as I live on the other side of the world and can’t be there for any of the planning.

I will also be the token Welsh girl in a sea of New Yorkers. Me at 8am:

tumblr_mxx2shhES91qat0bfo1_500

Finding a bridesmaid dress has proven to be hard. To be fair to Cerena, she has been anything but a Bridezilla. She’s letting the bridesmaids pick out our own dresses, as long as they’re black and knee-length. But I’m having to buy mine online because, well, I live in Asia and I’m a big girl.

I think I’ve narrowed it down to two:

dress

dress2

I prefer the first one because it feels more celebratory while I can’t stop getting a funeral vibe from the second one (meh, wedding/funeral, same difference 😉 ).

However, the first one’s only available in a UK Size 12 and, LOL, I haven’t been a UK Size 12 for nearly 3 years.

Which leads me to my very, very dumb wonderings of whether I could crash diet for the next 4 weeks, squeeze myself into it, and then indulge on all the New York bagels after the wedding. I know crash diets are stupid and dangerous and unhealthy and they only ever work for the short term but that’s kind of the point. I just want to be temporarily lean to fit into a pretty dress. (She says, diving into a bag of Maltesers.)

Thoughts?

There’s also the topic of New York accommodation. NYC, what the hell is going on with you?

Brooklyn had always been the go-to place for cheap accommodation and now it is more expensive to stay there than near Times Square. What is this??? What have the hipsters done to you?

Consider my mind blown. I’ll be staying in Queens.

Not much else to report from the Lion City this week. Work is work. I should be cleaning my house in my free time but I’m not. Tax season is here. And so is moth season:

18159410_10154481468988862_2029193793_o

Yes, this is an actual thing. Don’t you just love nature?

Books Read This Week

19146801

I only got around to finishing one book this week. I actually put my name down on the waiting list at my library for this in January and it took 4 months to become available. That’s how much people love this book.

I enjoyed it. I’m not a big lover of YA books but this was a good one. It explores the relationship between two teenage boys growing up in El Paso and touches on themes of sexuality, family, and PTSD.

Very well written and easy to read. The writing flowed well and the narrator’s voice really did sound like that of a teenage boy.

Honestly, though, there’s not a whole else I feel like I can say about it. I enjoyed it, yes, but did it blow my mind away? No. As what tends to happen when I read YA, I can’t help but feel a certain disconnect with the characters. It’s been a long time since I was a teenager and I’d much rather leave those angsty feelings forgotten than dive back into them. I’ve worked in a high school and know how rough adolescence is but there’s something about YA fiction that makes it so hard to relate to.

books

I’m currently working my way through my second James Baldwin novel, Go Tell It on the Mountain. Boy, this is very different from Giovanni’s Room.

I’m finding the religious themed passages quite taxing but sticking with it anyway.

I’ve also been reading Sense and Sensibility since February. This is the only Austen novel I haven’t read and, well, I don’t know why I’m having such a hard time with this. I’m a huge fan of the film adaptation with Emma Thompson and Kate Winslet so you’d think I’d fly through the book.

Apparently not.

Currently Watching/Listening to:

I’ve been catching up on booktube this week and am obsessed with the Try a Chapter tag. I am not a booktuber – just an avid viewer – but this tag is making me want to take part.

Links to things I loved this week:

The Heart of Whiteness: Ijeoma Oluo Interviews Rachel Dolezal, the White Woman who Identifies as Black @ The Stranger

Election 2017: What Should You Do if you Support Labour But Can’t Stand Jeremy Corbyn? @ New Statesman

Old Books Actually Smell like Chocolate and Coffee @ Popular Science

Andrew Garfield and Russell Tovey on the Evergreen Relevance of Angels in America @ Gay Times

Long Lost Andy Warhol Photos Finally Unveiled in New Magazine @ Out Magazine

Leave a Reply

