I Dare You – Book Tag

I got this tag from Kirsty over at Kirsty’s Book Reviews. She didn’t tag me but it looked fun and I’m trying to get back into the habit of blogging again so I thought I’d go ahead and do it.

Rules

+ You must be honest

+ You must answer all the questions

+ You must tag at least 4 people

~*~

1. What book has been on your shelf the longest?

I’ve had War and Peace sitting in a box at my parents’ house for almost 10 years now and I’ve still not read it. I don’t tend to keep many books though because they take up too much space when you’re constantly moving around.

2. What is your current read, your last read, and the book you’ll read next?

I have just started reading Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. I’ve also been working my way through Sense and Sensibility for the last 3 months. I just can’t seem to stick with it.

The last book I read was Giovanni’s Room which blew my mind in every which way.

And I really don’t know what I’ll read next. It’ll either be Fairyland by Alysia Abbott, which I recently bought for my Kindle, Go Tell it on the Mountain by James Baldwin, which I have taken out from the library, or The Handmaid’s Tale, which is being held for me at my local library.

3. What book did everyone like but you hated?

Next.

4. What book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read but you probably won’t?

Probably the rest of the Dark Tower series by Stephen King. I love Stephen King’s horror novels but fantasy books are really not my thing. I managed to finish The Gunslinger, which is the first in King’s Dark Tower fantasy series, and, god, it was rough. I want to be able to read all of Stephen King’s books but I really don’t feel like I’m going to manage this series.

5. What book are you saving for retirement?

Maybe my huge Complete Works of Shakespeare book or the Harry Potter series. I think I’ve actually read 3-4 of the Potter books and really enjoyed them. I don’t know why I didn’t carry on with them.

6. Last page: read it first or wait ’til the end?

Wait. I am not Harry Burns.

(That was a When Harry Met Sally reference, kids.)

7. Acknowledgement: Waste of paper & ink or interesting aside?

I like them.

8. Which book character would you switch places with?

Lord, I can’t think of any characters who’ve had happy endings. Maybe switch with Elizabeth Bennett like in that TV series Lost in Austen just to see what it would be like to come up against Darcy and Wickham. (FYI: I love Bingley.)

9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life? (Place, time, person)

Gosh, there are probably too many to name.

Some examples: The Bell Jar and Prozac Nation remind me of my struggles with depression at university. I Have Iraq in my Shoe and Oh! Mexico remind me of my friend, Rachel, and the fact that we both taught abroad. Miss O’Dell makes me think of home (the UK).

Books have a fab way of stirring memories.

10. Name a book that you acquired in an interesting way.

I bought this on a subway train in New York a few years ago from the poet/author. He was a really funny guy.

11. Have you ever given a book away for a special reason to a special person?

Usually when I’m giving a book away it’s because I know I’ll never read it again and am happy to see the back of it.

12. Which book has been with you most places?

Probably The Stand by Stephen King because it took me a year and a half to complete.

13. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad years later?

Nothing. Everything I hated in school, I haven’t wanted to waste my time revisiting.

14. Used or brand new?

I usually buy used because brand new books in this country are insanely expensive.

15. Have you ever read a Dan Brown book?

Yes. I read The Da Vinci Code just before the film came out and I really enjoyed it.

16. Have you ever seen a movie you liked more than the book?

The Hours. I love the film but really didn’t get anything out of the book.

17. Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry? Cookbooks included.

Like Water for Chocolate. Every single chapter made me drool and want to get in the kitchen.

18. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take?

My mum. She rarely recommends me books even though she reads so much so when she does mention one, I know it’ll be good.

19. Is there a book out of your comfort zone (e.g. outside your usual reading genre) that you ended up loving?

Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly. I avoid the science section in bookshops like the plague because it’s always been a subject that’s gone right over my head. I won’t lie and say I wasn’t intimidated by Hidden Figures. I was afraid of all the NASA/computer/engineering/mathematical lingo. But it turned out to be a really interesting, inspiring, and easy to follow read.

~*~

I tag Amanda, Jessica, MichelleKourtni, and whoever else wants to do this.

2 thoughts on “I Dare You – Book Tag

  1. Pingback: I Dare You Tag | Kourtni Reads

Leave a Reply

