One Year Later & a Return to Blogging

18043096_10154462133228862_1354709383_o

It’s been a year.

A whole year since I packed my bags, left Korea, and moved to Singapore.

The last time I properly blogged, I was 3 days in to my new life. I was living in a hotel in the red light district, getting adjusted to the heat and new atmosphere, preparing myself for a new job, hoping & praying that this move would heal my depression, and that I’d eventually find some happiness.

Thirteen months have passed and I’m here to tell you that Singapore has been good to me. Living has been easy and kind to my mind. I feel like me again and I’m enjoying everything I surround myself with.

I love the feel of the sun on my skin every day. I love the ease with which I can get around on this island. I love the sounds of the Singlish ‘lah’, ‘lor’, ‘ah’, and ‘leh’ that roll off the tongues of my neighbours and colleagues. I love that I’ve discovered how good I am at working with children and that it drives me to work hard and give it my all.

I love that I turned 30 here and no longer feel the pressures of life. I love that I have friends here who let me come over at 10pm with a bottle of wine. I love that I have friends overseas who fly 15 hours to come and visit.

18012994_10154462360573862_1926859221_o

Big happy face

I love that there are 29 libraries on this tiny little island which have allowed me to dive back in to reading voraciously.

I love that I get December holidays that let me fly home and spend Christmas with my family.

I love what Singapore has given me so far and I’m excited to see what this second year will bring.

~*~

With that being said, I do want to start blogging again. I was really enjoying doing a weekly update last year: One where I’d go over what was new, what I was reading & watching/listening to, and cool things I’d found on the internet that week.

I do want to get back into that again so, as a slow step back into the blogosphere, I’m going to aim for one post a week. A weekly update that will happen on Wednesday.

I realised, as I transferred all my old blog posts from one site to another, that I’d blogged about a lot of things I’d forgotten. These old blog entries are kind of like diary entries to a younger me and the experiences I had.

I don’t think I’m ready to give that up yet.

Books Read This Week

collage

I’ve been on a bit of a queer-themed book binge this week.

I feel like I’m now trying to make it my mission to dive more into this genre. As a member of the LGBT community, it’s actually sad how few books I’ve read related to this topic so I am trying to rectify that.

What’s interesting is that while lesbian-themed books are quite few and far between, bisexual-themed books seem to not exist. At least those outside of the realm of YA & Fantasy. But I’ll keep looking.

Both Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit and The Last Lesson of Mrs de Souza were 3 star reads for me. While there was nothing really wrong with them per se, they didn’t blow me away. They were just … okay.

Onto Difficult Women. So, here’s my confession about Roxane Gay. I love her. I really love who she presents herself as, I love her strength and her attitude, and just her overall awesomeness. I fell in love with her novel, Untamed State, last year and can’t wait to see the film that they make out of it.

But all her other books? Bad Feminist? Ayiti? Difficult Women? All of them have kind of been underwhelming for me. 3 star reads. None of them made me think, ‘Wow, that was amazing.’ They were fine. And nothing more.

I do, however, think that a lot of how I feel is my own fault. Because of how much I love Roxane Gay the figure, I probably go into her books expecting fireworks. I’m probably putting way too many expectations on her writing.

I went into Untamed State not really expecting anything. I wasn’t even sure I was going to like it. And I ended up LOVING it. Maybe I need to take a step back from all the pressure I put on her work. Her writing can’t be that bad anyway because I still continue to pick up everything she writes.

She does have another book coming out later this year called, Hunger: A Memoir of (my) Body. I’m trying not to get too overexcited about it because it sounds like something that’s right up my street and I don’t want to be disappointed.

And last, but definitely not least, I finished my first ever James Baldwin book, Giovanni’s RoomHO-LY SHIT. Why have I gone 30 years without picking up a Baldwin book? I am IN LOVE. This book had me shook. (Isn’t that what the kids are saying these days?) I went through an emotional rollercoaster with this story. I could literally feel my heart aching as I neared the end. I can absolutely see why people go crazy for his writing and why this is always listed as one of the best LGBT-themed books of all time. (And to think that this was published in the ’50s absolutely blows my mind.) This is definitely competing for the top spot in my favourites list.

Currently Watching:

The Get Down Part II has arrived on Netflix but I still haven’t watched even a second of it because I’ve been binge watching Weeds.

Yes, I am that person who discovers how good a show is 10 years after it finishes.

I’m currently working my way through Season 7 and I am ready for Andy to just GTFO of there and tell Nancy to take a hike. God, that woman is actually awful. But I’ve come so far in this show, I can’t turn away now.

Links to things I loved this week:

On Finally Watching “Girls,” a Different and Better Show Than I’d Been Led to Imagine @ The New Yorker

Five Reasons why the US Cannot attack North Korea @ SCMP

101 Photos of Miami Beach Pride @ Advocate

Giovanni’s Room by James Baldwin Book Review @ YouTube

One thought on “One Year Later & a Return to Blogging

  1. Somehow I totally missed that you moved your blog to a new location! Glad it didn’t take me TOO long to figure this out! I’ve got your new blog added to my feed reader now. I’m not always the best when it comes to reading/commenting these days – I tend to get very overwhelmed because once again I’m living a life I have no wish to live, and then I just mark everything as read – but I’m here when I can be. Miss you dear! Wish I was anywhere close to you or I could afford to come visit you in Singapore. I’d love to do a vacation to hit Singapore where you’re at, Australia where my editor (that I’ve never met in person) lives, and Indonesia where I’ve wanted to go since I was ten. Alas, there’s that money thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

