Books Read in 2014

For the first time in years, I finally got down to reading again. (Thank you, Kindle! And thank you to my mum for giving me her old one.) I haven’t read this much since 2010 and, even though I lost interest in the written word for a while there, I still managed a good amount. This year, I’m hoping to increase that number even more and make it to 40 books.

1) I Forgot to Be Famous by Almie Rose

2) John by Cynthia Lennon

3) Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding (re-read)

4) Almost French: A New Life in Paris by Sarah Turnbull

5) Korea, Are You at Peace?: Tales of Two Women Travelers in a Troubled Land by J. A. V. Simson

6) Pink Bits by Kat George

7) I Don’t Care About Your Band by Julie Klausner

8) Humpty Dumpty Was Pushed: And Other Cracked Tales by Bruce Lord & Elisabeth Richards

9) Kurt Cobain: Journals

10) I Met the Walrus by Jerry Levitan

11) Don’t Worry, It Gets Worse: One Twentysomething’s (Mostly Failed) Attempts at Adulthood by Alida Nugent

12) Wonderful Tonight by Pattie Boyd

13) Threepenny Memoir: The Lives of a Libertine by Carl Barât

14) Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

15) Unfaithfully Yours: Confessions of a Cheating Bitch by Chrystal Rose

16) Paper Towns by John Green

17) Black White and Jewish by Rebecca Walker

18) Once Upon a Star: Celebrity Kiss and Tell Stories by Peggy Trentini

19) Meaty: Essays by Samantha Irby

20) The Outsiders by S. E. Hinton

21) The Fault in our Stars by John Green

22) Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

23) Angus, Thongs & Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison

24) Wetlands by Charlotte Roche

25) Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

26) I Me Mine by George Harrison

27) Skywriting by Word of Mouth by John Lennon

28) Stuff White People Like: A Definitive Guide to the Unique Taste of Millions by Christian Launder

29) Through Gypsy Eyes by Kathy Etchingham

30) A Date with a Beatle by Judith Kristen

31) Miss O’Dell by Chris O’Dell

32) #YesAllWomen: A Collection edited by Ella Ceron

33) Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman

34) Push by Sapphire

Tried & Abandoned (but will also try again in 2015)

1) Just Kids by Patti Smith

2) Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed

Favourite Reads of 2014: 

+ Meaty: Essays by Samantha Irby

meaty

+ Miss O’Dell by Chris O’Dell

missodell

3 thoughts on “Books Read in 2014

  1. I tried to leave this comment before, not sure if it went through: I loved Just Kids!! I read it a month or two ago. I hope you try it again. And I HATED Wild. So much. I kept wanting to slap Cheryl. 😉

    Like

    • I will definitely be trying Just Kids again. I’ve gotten more and more into Patti Smith’s music since I put that book down so I definitely want to try again.

      I recently watched the film version of Wild too so that makes me want to pick up the book again. (Even though I had the same feelings as you the first time round haha)

      Like

  2. Pingback: Reading My Own Damn Books | Not in the Pink

Leave a Reply

