My Five Favourite Things in October

Photo Credit.

I’m a couple of days late in doing this but better late than never, right? A belated Happy Halloween to you all! Pinch Punch, first of the month. And Happy Day of the Dead!

November is here and the Christmas lights are already up in my town (I kid you not – they’ve been up since the beginning of last month). But, before rushing off to wish everyone a happy new year, let’s go back to October and see what my highlights of that month was.

1. Ja’mie: Private School Girl

If you’re not already familiar with the work of Australian comedian, Chris Lilley, what are you doing with your life? Seriously, shut your face and go to the hairdresser and sort your fucking roots out. (See? If you were a fan, you’d get that reference.)

October saw the start of Chris’ brand new show Ja’mie: Private School Girl and, only two episodes in, it is not disappointing.

In fact, I’m blown away at how Chris can keep delivering frickin’ AMAZINGLY BRILLIANT AND HYSTERICAL material again and again. How does he do it? How? Most comedians have hit and miss projects but he never seems to have a miss. The man is a comedic genius.

For those of you who’ve never seen any of his works, Chris is the man behind shows like We Can Be Heroes, Summer Heights High and Angry Boys, mockumentary-style shows that feature a whole string of unique characters (male and female) all played by the man himself in scarily accurate ways. (When WCBH first aired, people were phoning into the TV station thinking it was real.) Ja’mie King is the bitchy, 16 (or 17 in the latest show) year old private school girl who originally starred in WCBH SHH. Her blunt remarks and no shit attitude have made her a cult icon so fans of Lilley’s (myself included) were more than thrilled to hear she’d be back with her own show.

To bring this character back for a third time was such a big leap for Chris to take (I mean, there’s always the worry that bringing back characters can get repetitive and boring – Hello, Little Britain!) and I was worried that there’d be that rehash of old jokes.

How wrong I was and how bad I was to doubt the man. Ja’mie: Private School Girl is turning out to be one of the best series Chris has ever created and it definitely tops the list of my favourite things in October.

2. Central Heating

Photo credit.

As the air turns colder and the rain keeps coming down, I’m reminded of those cold, drafty rooms I used to live in in Mexico that never warmed up during the winter. If you got caught in the rain and your shoes were soaked through, there was no way to dry them. No radiators. Nothing.

I like my central heating. I like my warm and toasty bed.

3. Queenie Eye

Sir Paul McCartney has a new album out, appropriately titled New, which I really like. On the other hand, I love his new single, Queenie Eye.

I’ve been singing it non-stop for weeks now and everyone in work has started telling me to shut the eff up.

I don’t care though.

Queenie Eye, Queenie Eye, Who’s got the ball? I haven’t got it. It’s not in my pocket. O-U-T spells ‘Out’. That’s ‘Out’. Without a shadow of a doubt.

Macca’s voice might have changed but he’s still got it.

4. Travel & Expat Blogs

blogs

It’s been absolutely dead in work and is apparently only going to get worse in the next few months. No-one wants to book flights or a holiday during November/December so my job is kind of redundant.

I’ve been whiling away the hours by catching up on travel/expat blog reading. They’re getting me excited for my impending move in February and only making me want to visit more and more places in the next few years.

5. Junk Food

Photo Credit.

Here’s the deal: When I returned to the UK in April, I went on an overload of junk food and crap that I’d been missing for the last year and a half. In fact, in the last six months, I’ve gained a grand total of 2 stone (28lbs) from the lack of exercise and absolute abundance of crap I’ve been putting into my body.

All my clothes are more than snug now but the fact that I’ve gained weight and am now sporting some major flubber on my legs, bum and tum (as well a good pair of hamster cheeks) hasn’t really bothered me.

Until now.

Y’see, I have Asthma and, while it’s triggered by the usual stuff like pollen, dust, cat and dog hair, etc., it’s also made worse by certain things I eat: Namely dairy, caffeine, refined carbs, nuts and bread. As the cold months set in, my Asthma’s been getting increasingly worse and has run me down something awful over the last two weeks.

So, as a result, I’ve got to cut out the crap, start eating well and get a shed load of exercise again for my health. I start a seven-day detox tomorrow to help me move back into the standard healthy diet I used to live with so, for now, I’ve been indulging in my favourite kind of junk that I’ll be saying goodbye to for a while.

It’s not that I’m restricting myself and denying beautiful rich foods. It’s just that I have to think of my health and only have those foods as a treat every once in a while.

Having a takeaway almost every night, chips, chocolate, biscuits, and all that rubbish isn’t doing me any good and I want to be feeling bright and ready for my move in February.

Here’s to you, junk food! You lethal git!

What were your favourite things in October?

6 thoughts on “My Five Favourite Things in October

  1. That song is great!!! And I’m so honored to be in that picture thing with the likes of the other Sally… LOL.

    Ah, junk food… I’d also be in the same boat since I eat terribly, but I exercise every morning with my puppy out of necessity. A blessing and a curse! Good luck! 🙂

    Like

    • The song really sticks in your head, doesn’t it? 😀 Macca’s still got it!

      Oh, hun, you’re definitely one of my favourites so, believe me, thank YOU for distracting me from work boredom. 😛

      Like

  2. I don’t think I could survive without central heating! I always prefer to be a bit too hot than to be a bit too cold. My favourite thing in October was starting work again because it meant getting paid again, :p

    Like

    • It was bone chillingly cold in Mexico – The only thing I hated while over there!

      Ooh, that was definitely one of my favourite things in September, hun. Getting a payslip again is always a dream, isn’t it? 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

