My Mexicanisms

??????????????????????As my time in Mexico draws to a close, I begin to reflect more and more on the experiences I’ve had and the life I’ve laid out here. One of the conversations that’s been dominating my time with friends recently has been on what I’ll miss most about this country. While my fellow Mexpats are always eager to add their two cents, my Mexican friends can’t help but sit there, amused at hearing about all those little things foreigners love about their birthplace.

These conversations then turn to what we’ve affectionately called our “Mexicanisms” – those little characteristics typical in most Mexicans that we’ve inevitably picked up during our time here.

And after reading Amanda’s list of Koreanisms she’s picked up from 2 years over there, I knew I had to write out my own list … just so my family and friends back home are prepared next time they see me. 😉

The weather’s hot today, no?

Anyone who speaks or is learning English knows that we have a variety of tag questions in our language: “This coffee is bad, isn’t it?” “You don’t know where you’re going, do you?” “We’re lost, aren’t we?” “You’ve been to Cuba, haven’t you?”

In Mexico, it’s pretty easy. If you want to turn something into a question, add “no” to the end.

“There’s a football game on Sunday, no?” “You’ve had a lot of work recently, no?” “This pizza’s good, no?”

This was a habit I hadn’t even realised I’d picked up until my friend Michelle mentioned it the other night. Since then I can’t help but burst into a fit of giggles whenever that word escapes my – or any other Mexpat’s – mouth.

The Finger Wag

tumblr_ly3u8gub3T1r3zrldo1_r1_500This is another strange one I wouldn’t have realised I do until Michelle mentioned it. (I will also point out that she’s guilty of all these things too. 😉 )

It’s as though nodding your head to agree with someone isn’t good enough here. Instead we replace it with the finger wag.

Unlike the finger wag we use in Wales where we use a straight pointed finger and shake it from side-to-side to scold a child, this finger wag looks more like something Danny from The Shining does when he’s talking to Toby.

When someone’s just finished talking, we waggle our finger – Danny Torrance style – as a way to agree with them and say “yes”.

I’m guilty of it and I like that the country’s full of little Shining people.

Tight Clothes

I love that women here generally don’t seem to give a shit about what their body shape is when it comes to clothes.

It’s fashionable to wear high heels (at a minimum of six inches) to work but, outside of work, it’s all about tight clothing: Tight jeans that show off the curves of your arse and thighs, and tops that rarely cover anything below the stomach.

While I’m well aware that there’s still a craze for faddy diets and exercise here, I love that body shape isn’t an issue the way it is in the UK. And I’m proud of the way my body looks now – even if my weight is forever going up and down each month.

There was a time when going shopping for clothes and not being able to find a pair of jeans that fit used to depress the hell out of me. I’d be down for the rest of the day, trying to keep myself from crying in public, and vowing not to eat anything until I’d shed the weight.

But now I don’t care.

The last time I bought new jeans was in December. Rather than throw a temper tantrum when I couldn’t fit into a pair of my size, I shrugged and bought the next size up, thinking, ‘Looks like I’ve put on a few pounds. Oh well.’

And while I won’t be forcing myself into anything that shows off a dreaded muffin top any time soon, I wear skinny jeans and tight tops proudly, happy to show off what I have.

Staring

Remember when I wrote about this cultural difference I never thought I’d get used to?

Sometimes the staring does still bother me if I’m having a bad day but my reaction has cooled down since then.

What I never expected was that I’d now start doing it myself.

While I’m still not on that creepy I’m-gonna-stare-at-you-for-10-minutes-without-blinking level, my curiosity in people does get the better of me and I’ll be happy to people watch on the Metro for a lot longer than usual.

But the worst part?

My staring comes into play tenfold when I see a light-blonde foreigner.

More than a few times a 6’0″, blonde, European-looking backpacker has boarded the Metro or Metrobus and I, along with most of the other citizens, will gawk away at this rarely-seen beauty.

I’m hoping I can slap myself out of this habit before I head to New York and start doing this on the Subway. Otherwise I sense some very dangerous altercations.

Ay!

This was the first thing I picked up and I can’t not do it now.

We’ve all heard the way Mexicans say “Oh my God!” (“Ay! Dios mio!”)

Well, that “Ay!” isn’t just used as a substitute for “Oh!” It’s used for everything!

If you drop something, “Ay!”

If you bump into someone, “Ay!”

If you accidentally stub your toe, “Ay!”

I can’t physically say “Ouch!” or “Oops!” or “Ow!” anymore. It always comes out “Ay!”

What characteristics/habits have you picked up as an expat?

18 thoughts on “My Mexicanisms

  1. The “No?” thing! I feel like that’s not so much a Mexicanism as a… non-English-ism? I’ve found myself doing that after every holiday I’ve been on. I love “No?” 🙂

    Like

    • Hahaha. I always thought that was such a stereotype – the Canadian “eh” – but since meeting so many, I’ve realised they really DO do it … and, yeah, when I hear it, I giggle. 😀

      Like

  2. Pingback: Five Mexican Cultural Differences I’ll Probably Never Get Used To | Not in the Pink

  3. Pingback: Seven Things I Really Miss About Mexico | Not in the Pink

  4. Hello I am from Monterrey Mexico, (married / male 36 years old) and I have to tell you that really enjoyed reading your “mexicanisms” and the “cultural differences”.

    I am very surprised of how accurate you are on your perspective.

    Nonetheless, I feel shame for some of the cultural differences you find offensive.

    For example, about the “staring” I totally agree with you. In Mexico, we are not used to see blondes/blue eyes people and neither black afroamerican people. I believe that for that reason, we see “different” we unconsciously tend to stare and “analize them”. Other reason could be that men tend to stare, whistle and flirt to beatiful women, not in an aggressive way, but in a way of admiring beauty. So feel happy, feel beautiful, feel admired 😉

    About the tight clothes you are right, We love women usong tight jeans and blouses. I think it is a way women “show” their body specially, but not limited, to thin women. In some other
    countries, women use very “lose” clothes and from our particular point of view, that is not sexy.

    I feel ver ashamed by the fact, that you have received bad service. I will not try to deny it, but can think of a reason. The fact that you are foreigner, could be the reason…specially if you dont speak Spanishto them the will ignore you just by the fact that they dont want to struggle trying to understand you. I would suggest, to speak them in Spanish nicely, with a smile, looking to their eyes, always saying “por favor” (please) when asking fornsomething and always saying “gracias” and you will see they will love talking to you.

    Within Mexico, culture is different in Mexico City, Northern Mexico and Southern Mexico.

    I live in the North, and have to tell you that se found people from Mexico City very arrogant.

    Ok girl…I really hope you enjoy Mexico, most of the Mexicans are very friendly and happy people, hope you can get the best of all of them.

    Good luck,

    René

    Like

  5. As a born Mexican living in London and being travelling around the world (well not so, maybe just US, Argentina, South Africa, The Netherlands, France and Australia) since a toddler, it’s kinda funny you pointed it. I’ve been using this kind of “Mexicanisms” since i have memory, maybe because of my mother because I’m sure it wasn’t my belgian father. But the funny part is that every single friend of mine, specially here and in Australia, use it. That’s it. They do two, three or all of this things unconsciously and i don’t know when it started. I always thought it was something usual for everybody but now you’re pointing it I’m so curious if it was because of me. Because if something is sure the majority are from my Uni, posh LSE students if you know what i mean haha Xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

