Twenty Six

tumblr_mcn56z3IeK1rpxpglo1_500

2013 has arrived and so has the start of my twenty-sixth year.

I started 2012 in front of El Ángel de la Independencia in Mexico City alone and ended it standing under a torrent of fireworks in Puerto Vallarta with one of my best friends.

In the last 12 months I’ve found an area of the world that feels more like home than the land I was born in. North America is a place full of people, art, music, food, film, history, languages, culture, life that I’m in love with. 

I hate the old cliché of travelling to the other side of the world and “finding yourself” when you’re there but it really did happen. I discovered a lot about the person I am over the last 12 months and have a much clearer idea of the kind of life I want.

I’ve found inspiration in people and places I never expected and am now at a stage in my life where I’m comfortable with the person I am – flaws and all.

My Resolutions for the New Year are exactly what’re in the image above. Last year was full of them; This year I intend to keep enjoying my life and doing the same.

This could be a post where I get all deep and reflect on 2012: On how life has been as a teacher; On how I feel about living abroad; On how my Spanish is doing; On getting food poisoning three times; On getting my heart broken by an American man; On discovering what my true passions are; On making eye contact with Diego Luna (Or perhaps “sharing an eyefuck” would be the correct term); On missing my family …

But I’m not going to do that.

I loved life in 2012:

Leaving 2012 with a bang

Leaving 2012 with a bang

I followed my dreams and was the happiest I’ve ever been in my life.

I just want to keep doing the same in 2013.

However, I am going to say that a big change is coming. A HUGE change in the next few months that’ll really affect my life.

I’m still not sure how I feel about it and am coming to terms with how this could impact everything. But, all the same, I’m trying to be optimistic.

Only a small handful of people know about it right now and I’ll probably write a post and announce it soon. In the meantime, I’ll try to keep this site updated a little more often about my adventures (and try to keep up with yours too – I logged into my Google Reader the other day and nearly broke the internet with the amount of unread posts it spat out!).

Until then, a Belated Happy New Year! I hope yours is as bright and sunny as you make it, and that you do all you can to keep chasing those dreams. xxx

tumblr_mfoo262BE01r4xjo2o1_r1_500

6 thoughts on “Twenty Six

Leave a Reply

