Reasons I Love Mexico: Churros

Churros con Chocolate: The Best Way to End a Day.

Churros con Chocolate: The Best Way to End a Day.

As a continuing series of love letters to my adopted country, I thought I’d make this a regular feature on my blog: Little things that I can’t get enough of and that make me happy in Mexico.

Ah, churros, how do I love thee? Let me count the ways …

Okay, I won’t. I’d be here all year counting if I actually tried to.

My love for churro began in San Cristóbal de las Casas. Fresh from noshing down a bag of plantains and watching the festivities for Our Lady of Guadalupe, I found myself drawn to the smell of hot doughnuts covered in sugar and filled with thick chocolate. From my first bite, I was hooked.

7546013794_ff7292c012_b

You see, churros can be described as a straight-shaped Spanish doughnut … The truth is, they’re so much better than normal doughnuts.

For the girl with the sweet tooth (aka moi), they’re simply known as heaven.

Whether eaten plain, covered in sugar or cinnamon, filled with chocolate or dipped in hot chocolate, churros (make sure to rrrroll the ‘rr‘s, darling) are definitely the number one cause for any weight gain I may have experienced in the last couple of months.

7546027656_827857aa02_b

But do I feel guilty?

Hell NO!

Their sugary goodness is worth every pound I put on, every break-out on my face (thanks to the chocolate), and every increase in my risk towards diabetes.

Churros, te amo. You make Mexico a happy place.

7550101928_0ca7831650_b

11 thoughts on “Reasons I Love Mexico: Churros

  1. Just a question..are they vegan friendly? Also, there’s a fab place near metro San Juan in the centre which only sells churros. It’s one of those kitschy 1950’s places in some slightly dodgy area which hasn’t changed in years. Attracts all walks of life and is cheap as chips

    Like

    • Nah, Liz. Definitely *not* vegan friendly … but vegetarian friendly? Yes.

      I’ll have to wander the dodgy streets one day to track that place down. Haha.

      Like

  2. I asked this also, but I assume they are not vegan friendly because they always put them in animal fat. Definitely avoid churros! 😦 I’m sure you can try to make one or go to an actual vegetarian eatery!

    Hope you are enjoying Mexico so far.

    Like

    • You’re so lucky! We definitely don’t have anything like this in the UK so all the more reason to stay here rather than return home. 😉 Haha.

      Like

  3. Pingback: 5 Mexican Foods I Love (and Hate) | Not in the Pink

  4. This blog is making me hungry! I’ve never had them in hot chocolate before…sounds splendid! You should find a recipe and make them at home. I find I don’t do fried foods very well. I leave that to the pros.

    Like

  5. Hello, Neat post. There is a problem along with your website in web explorer, could
    check this? IE still is the marketplace chief and a big part of folks will omit your magnificent writing due to this problem.

    Like

Leave a Reply

