My Kind-Of, Sort-Of, Maybe Itinerary


As the big day’s getting closer, I can’t help but feel as though I need some sort of plan.

I hate to have everything pinned down and lose all spontaneity but given my financial situation and the fact that I’m on a tight budget, it’s definitely important to have a rough idea.

As a result, I think I kind of know what I’m doing once I’ve finished my CELTA course. I’m open to changes and not expecting anything to be precise but here’s my not so official itinerary:

Cancun – I arrive into Cancun on Thursday 3rd November but, sadly, won’t be taking advantage of the party scene straight away.

Playa Del Carmen – I’ll be catching a bus straight from Cancun airport to Playa so I can get settled in to this beautiful beach town I’ll be calling my home for a month. This’ll be where my intense four week teacher training course will take place so, while I’ll be entering the town as a scared and shy foreigner, hopefully I’ll leave as a cool and confident teacher (with not too much sunburn).

Cancun – Once my course is finished, it’s back to Cancun where I’ll stay for a night or two to experience the crazy (and pretty expensive) tourist scene.

Havana, Cuba – This isn’t set in stone but there isn’t any place in the world I want to visit more than Cuba. As I’ll be in Cancun, I hope to take advantage of hopping across the water and spending some time on this Caribbean island.

Palenque – Returning to Cancun and hopping onto a bus, Palenque is one of the destinations that’s famous for it’s incredible Mayan architecture and one I’m hoping to explore. This’ll be a perfect introduction to the history of Mexico and travelling hours at a time by bus is going to help me soak up the lands and culture.

San Cristobal de las Casas – Not only is this city filled with incredible art, culture and sights but the amazing Rachel from RKA in LA resides here and I’ve promised her that I’ll pay her a visit. Get those tequila slammers in!

Oaxaca – This city is said to inspire artists and travellers with its museums, indigenous traditions and beautiful mountains that surround it. I’ve never heard a bad word said about Oaxaca and it’s one of those places I know I want to check out for myself.

Mexico City – The capital, one of the biggest cities in the world, and the place I’m crossing my fingers for that I’ll end up teaching here. As a 20something girl, I always feel at home in the largest cities. I know that this’ll be the place for me.

Veracruz – Should I find myself staying in Mexico City as a teacher, I hope to have a weekend to myself to take a break and visit Veracruz. The moment I heard about its tree-filled square, the Zocalo, occupied by dominos players, cigar smokers, food stands, music, dancers, and the like, I knew I had to visit this place. Not only that but the cathedrals, lighthouses, ports and beaches immediately pull me in to something I know is right for me.

~*~

While I know this itinerary isn’t complete and there are still a thousand and one places in Mexico I want to visit, this gives you the general idea about the direction I plan to head in.

‘Citing, non?

As far as my to-do list goes, I think I’ve got it under control. I’m all booked up for accomodation until the 3rd of December, I’ve finally got travel insurance and my teaching course is all paid for.

This Thursday I’ll be handing in my notice at work and my big secret will finally be out in the open. I’m kind of relieved it’s so close now … I hate lying to people in work. I’m just a little worried about what my supervisors will say. I hope they’ll understand … I mean, heck, we work for an airline. Everyone there loves travel. They should understand why I wouldn’t want to throw this opportunity away.

So there it is.

We’re now 39 days away from everything. The panic attacks have come to a halt and I’m feeling much more excited about everything once again. Money should be the last thing I worry about. I just need to let the experience take care of itself, relax, and have fun. πŸ™‚

 

16 thoughts on “My Kind-Of, Sort-Of, Maybe Itinerary

  1. Let me know if you make it to Guadalajara, Ceri! It’s seven hours by bus west of Mexico City, and there are some really fantastic places to visit between Mexico’s two largest cities. (Guanajuato might be my favorite).

    Paco is from Zinacantan, a town outside of San Cristobal. If you go to TierrAdentro (a restaurant) in San Cris, well, that’s where we met…more than four years ago. Our hearts are still in Chiapas. Enjoy your time there.

    Like

    • Ooh, Abby! As you’re so close being in Chile (yeah, that’s “close” for me who’s coming from across the atlantic), you have to pay a visit. And if you do, let me know! We can do lunch. πŸ˜€

      Like

    • Oooh, Sheila, I’ve always wanted to go to Honduras. I’m hoping to teach somewhere like Honduras or El Salvador after I’ve spent a bit of time in Mexico. πŸ˜€ Let me know how your trip goes. Have you had to have all the vaccinations I’m getting?

      Like

  2. I absolutely loved Mexico City! I stayed at a wonderful hostel in a really great neighborhood. It’s on my Mexico Travel Tips page if you’re interested.

    I’m a little envious of seeing Cuba on your sort of maybe itinerary. I hope you make it there, so I can read about your experience.

    Like

    • Aww, thanks Steph! I’ll definitely take a look at that. πŸ˜€

      Yeah, I hope I do get to include Cuba too – It’s my number one ‘Always wanted to go there’ location and, as I’ll be so close, I can’t bear the thought of missing out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

