The New Job

Photo Credit.

Three weeks ago I started a new job.

I now work in the customer service department for a very well-known and prestigious airline and something strange has happened.

I actually like this job.

Really like it.

In fact, I could go so far to say that I love my job. πŸ™‚

I spend all day talking about travelling and different places with people from all over the world. I speak to families, businessmen, backpackers, celebrities, all within the space of an hour and discuss flight details, baggage allowances, VISAs, connecting flights, currency and earning miles.

It doesn’t sound like much to the outside but I genuinely have such a fun time at work. It doesn’t even feel like work.

The comany is absolutely fantastic and there are so many inspirational people walking around, everyone always has a smile on their face.

It’s also the kind of place that gives you the flexibility to move around after six months. If I was fed up with customer service after that time, I have boundless opportunities to move up to a supervisor level or move to a different department (customer relations, baggage tracer (Pfffft! Would not want to be doing that job!), cabin crew, airport staff, HR, … the list goes on).

Of course, this is all very well and good but the fact of the matter is that I do have to leave at the end of October. I have other plans.

And this thought actually makes me quite sad. I’m torn between something I really want to do and experience and a job I love.

Someone asked me why don’t I just put the trip off for a year … I’d save more money that way and get to enjoy my job for longer. But I know deep down that I have to leave now.

If I don’t do it now, it’ll never happen.

If, after a year of teaching, I realise it doesn’t give me as much satisfaction as working in the travel sector did, I always have the choice to go back to it. At least I know that working for an airline (NOT booking people’s 4 star packaged holidays – I seriously couldn’t do that) is something I really enjoy.

And at the end of it all, I also have to remember that maybe the reason I do get so much enjoyment from my job is because it revolves around and reminds me of exactly what I’m counting down to. πŸ™‚

2 Months, 4 Weeks to go!

22 thoughts on “The New Job

    • Thanks Ryan. Yeah, I definitely think it’s the fact that I talk about travelling all day that makes me love it. Am going to carry on with my plans. πŸ™‚

      Like

  1. It’s good that you love your job even though you have to leave. The point is not that you shouldn’t therefore leave but that your jobs should always be jobs you love even if you can’t stay in them forever! :–)

    Like

  2. The good thing is knowing that if you love the job so much, you can always leave the company with good credit and come back after your year off, right? πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. This job sounds fascinating! And I agree with everyone else. Now is the time to make your big move! This job will be waiting for you when you come back if you leave on good terms, I’m sure.

    Like

    • Yeah, I’m sure it will. But I guess it’ll be there only if I don’t enjoy teaching as much as I hope I do. πŸ™‚ Hopefully teaching will be something I’ll love and I can stick to that and travel with it.

      Like

  4. I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying your job, Ceri! And I totally agree with the others about leaving on good terms and getting back to it later. πŸ™‚ I wish you good luck and all the best no matter what you do! {Hugs}

    Like

  5. Great jobs will come and go, but the chance to live out a dream does not. You are doing the right thing, and if your new company appreciates you, they will welcome you back if/when you are ready.

    Like

    • That’s such a lovely thing to say, Michelle. I hope, aswell, as this company’s travel-related and most of them absolutely love travelling that they’ll understand my reasons for taking the opportunity to go abroad and teach. πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Yay, that you like your job. That’s important! Hopefully I will like my parttime job too. I start tomorrow! πŸ™‚
    Save money, but you def. have to go! Why? Because I want to do the same one day and I want to read your journey. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Ooooh, cross fingers that you liked it. πŸ˜€

      Hehehehehe. I love your reasons for wanting me to go. I will definitely still be going. I think I’ve put the fact that I love my job down to the fact that it’s definitely reminding me of going travelling. πŸ˜€

      Like

  7. Glad you like your new job! I really enjoyed the job I quit before I went digital nomad and moved to Costa Rica. I had been there for 5 years, though, and felt like I was starting to die a little on the inside. Leaving the desk and venturing out into the world definitely revived me and taught me so much more about myself. It will for you, too, I hope πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Ooh, I hope it’ll be that way for me too. πŸ™‚ I definitely feel like I’m on the right path in my life right about now. I’m happy and reminded of travelling the world every day and it’s making me more and more eager to get out there and explore.

      Like

  8. I was going to suggest something similar to what Amanda said πŸ™‚
    It’s great that you found a job you love, but you always have to opportunity to come back to it if, like you said, teaching doesn’t give you the same joy. But if you don’t go, you’ll ever have it in the back of your mind. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Definitely. I know that even if I promised myself I’d go travelling in a year’s time, it just wouldn’t happen. I’ve put it off for long enough. I definitely need to go exploring. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

