Using Insanity to get back to Reality

Needless to say, the last couple of weeks have been up and down.

Last week I mooched around after two rejection letters from prospective jobs came through the mail. Then I sucked hard at a third job interview I attended this week. It seriously couldn’t have gone worse. :S

Needless to say, I found that the solution was to feel sorry for myself, hide under the bed covers while watching old classic films on a loop which only reminded me that I wasn’t in Paris so I wouldn’t be able to snag a handsome, tap-dancing artist like Gene Kelly or that I wasn’t married to a frustrated, crutch-ridden alcoholic Paul Newman that I could follow around and attempt to seduce like a cat.

So, in times of desperation I turned to the only man who could pick me back up: My favourite comedian, Jerry Lewis.

Whether it was old reruns of Martin & Lewis on the Colgate Comedy Hour, old Martin & Lewis films, or Jerry’s own solo projects, I found that his complete insanity was bringing me back from the brink and is still helping to pull me away from this depressive slump.

Thank you, Jerry.

And, I’d like you, dear readers, to take just 7 lonely little itty-bitty minutes to watch this video with me. It’s one of those that’s helped pick me up during the last fortnight.

It’s from the film Artists and Models and is my absolute favourite scene. Dean Martin manages to seduce the lovely Dorothy Malone with an absolutely beautiful and romantic version of My Innamorata.

Seeing how well it worked for him, Shirley Maclaine then attempts to do the same in order to seduce Jerry Lewis. Hilarity ensues!

Hope you enjoy it as much as I do. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Using Insanity to get back to Reality

  1. awwww 🙂

    I think Martin & Lewis were hilarious together, but my favorite is Gene Kelly. I loved An American in Paris. Shirley Maclaine looks so young in that clip!

    Like

    • I love Jerry Lewis – I have a complete fangirl crush on him and I adore watching those Martin and Lewis clips. 🙂 Shirley is really young in this, isn’t she? She’s hilarious.

      Gene Kelly = SWOON! I know most people swoon over Cary Grant but, for me, it was always Gene Kelly. 😉

      Like

  2. Hang in there, girl! You will find something.

    If you want a good laugh, I actually went to a job interview with a migraine. During the interview itself, my eyes were streaming from the pain, and I could barely speak louder than a whisper. Imagine my surprise when I didn’t get the job. LOL!

    Like

Leave a Reply

