Review: The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas

My review for The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas is now up here at Bookgeeks.

The Slap has been one of my absolute favourite reads of 2010 so far. The combination of the controversial catalyst at the beginning of the story combined with the different narratives of such a diverse range of characters was a real joy to read. Tsiolkas doesn’t sugar coat his characters – each have their major flaws which make them feel more human and instantly sets up a perfect introduction to the Australia us foreigners don’t get to see: a new country full of people struggling to find their identities in a place where old cultures still reign heavy.

I couldn’t urge you more to get your hands on a copy of this.

On another note, this is the fourth book I’m including for my GLBT Reading Challenge. Not only is the author an openly gay man but he touches on the subject of homosexuality with his character, Richie, a teenager struggling to come to terms with his sexuality in the seemingly machoism-dominated world he and his friend, Connie, surround themselves with.

8 thoughts on “Review: The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas

  1. Pingback: GLBT Reading Challenge 2010 « Not in the Pink

  2. It sounds like a very interesting book. I like the idea of reading more about the unfamiliar Australia. I’ve read so much of their history but I definitely stopped with current events. I had never heard of The Slap before your review. Thanks for bringing it to my attention!

    Like

Leave a Reply

