R.I.P. Corey Haim

1971-2010

A million people on the internet are doing posts like this right now but I don’t care.

I like the two Coreys from back in the day and it’s a real tragedy to hear of Corey Haim’s death.

I spent the day watching Lucas (God, I forgot how much I really love that film) and Lost Boys, and am going to snuggle down before bed to watch License to Drive too.

I refuse to judge anyone on their addictions if it doesn’t affect my life. His friends and family were affected by them but we weren’t as we never knew him so we owe him that respect from afar. We don’t know the full story or his reasons so it’s never fair to judge.

Corey was a child star for a reason and that was because he had real talent that showed through in his work. It’s such a shame that he had a lot of personal demons he wasn’t able to overcome and that such a successful, good-looking guy died alone and lonely. Especially at such a young age.

As weird and scripted as The Two Coreys reality series was, it was fun while it lasted because the two of them had great chemistry. (And I’m a closet reality TV addict.) His goofy, irresponsible, big-kid parody of himself was a great contrast to Feldman’s domesticated and *cough*whipped*cough* family man.

Rest in Peace, Corey. I know that, wherever you are, you can finally be at ease with yourself. No-one can haunt you, make fun of you, or criticise you. Your work lives on forever and you’ll be missed a lot.

9 thoughts on “R.I.P. Corey Haim

  1. Poor Corey! My heart goes out to his family and friends. There has been a lot of this kind of tragedy in Hollywood in the last couple of years. It breaks my heart to see people that are so talented dying so young 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

